After Matriculation, students then enter an intermediate college. Upon completion of each of the two grades, they again take standardized tests in their academic subjects. Students are awarded the Higher Secondary School Certificate (or HSSC). This level of education is also called the F. Sc. /FA/ICS or 'intermediate'. There are many streams students can choose for their 11 and 12 grades, such as

1.          pre-medical,

2.         pre-engineering,

3.        humanities (or social sciences),

4.         computer science and

5.        commerce.

Each stream consists of three electives and three compulsory subjects of English, Urdu, Islamiat (grade 11 only) and Pakistan Studies (grade 12 only).